Project Idea : Add "missing" features to 2016 Kia Sorento

Hello!

I am Frank, from Montreal, Quebec, Canada. I am an experienced programmer with a passion for cars and modifying them.

I have a 2016 Kia Sorento that I really like but I feel like I am missing a few cool features and I think that I will be able to create them with my M2.

Here’s what I currently plan to do:

*Make the heated seats automatically turn on when vehicle starts and it’s bellow a certain temperature
*Make the steering mode independent from the fuel economy mode. This will probably end up only having the sport steering mode on at all time, but I will look into having way to switch between steering assistance and fuel economy modes on their own.
*Have a way to turn on the rear view camera without having to be in reverse gear.

Once I am confident enough I might try to see what I can do to have better performances, but that will be for another topic.

So far I only played with the leds, blinking and fading them, but I can’t wait to plug it into my suv and see what can be done!

The heated seat idea sounds interesting. I think my 2008 Buick actually does this. It can automatically turn on the seat heat in the winter when you remote start it. It doesn’t seem to do it when you start it with the key.

On my 2013 Leaf it’s possible to turn on the cameras while going forward so that you can see what you’re doing. It seems to only allow this at parking lot speeds. You can’t do it while going 70MPH down the road.

Anyway, just saying that those sound like reasonable ideas and that they have existed on some vehicles. When you’re ready to party here’s what I’d suggest: