Need Guidance on Pontiac 3.9L G6 GTP & Other LZ9 Vehicles

Hello all!

I just received my UTD version of the M2 and I am itching to get in there and break something! :grin:

List of vehicles that use the VVT 3.9L LZ9 motor:
2006 Chevrolet Impala, Monte Carlo, Malibu SS, Malibu Maxx SS and Uplander; Pontiac G6 GTP and SV6; Buick Terraza; and Saturn Relay.

I did a search on the forums and found no mention of the Pontiac G6, or the LZ9 anywhere and figured it was worth making a thread. All years of the G6 use the CAN bus and Macchina recommends using the ā€œSavvyCANā€ library.

I am curious if we have any users on the message boards who have tweaked a LZ9 powered vehicle with the M2 already and if so, please give us your input!

My background is in electrical and computer engineering, so I am sure I will figure it out eventually, but Iā€™d love to get some feedback for anyone who can assist in pointing me in the right direction. Things to avoid is also valuable info.

Another point of interest is my Dad has a 2016 SS Camaro (3rd best, to LTE and ZL1) that I drive occasionally. I imagine the LS1-LS6 motors are some of the more popular items, when compared to the LZ9. Although the LZ9 was an award winning motor by motor trend, so itā€™s no slouch either! Iā€™ll update this post as I progress in my tuning, as well as when the thread starts getting valuable information worthy of being at the top in the OP!

Thanks and happy tuning day!

I think it depends what youā€™re looking to do. I know SavvyCAN will be very useful for you to find/target frames youā€™re looking for, but as far as functionality it depends what you want to do. Are you trying to just get data from the car or are you looking to actually send commands and things of that nature?

1 Like