Flashing GM ECU with M2

There is an active effort right now to reflash GM’s 12200411 PCM via open-source software - this should work for a lot of GM V8 vehicles in the late 1900s and early 2000s. Most of the excitement is toward the end of this thread:

https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1566

The short version is that the kernel development and proof-of-concept app were done some time ago, but the app had some reliability and maintainability issues, and we’re now rewriting the app to address those problems.

I would love to get the Macchina M2 working with this project, but it’s not going to be a good option without support for high speed / 4x VPW communications. I don’t have the Arduino skills to make that happen, but I really hope someone else does… I’ll be very happy to add whatever is needed in the Windows app to support the M2.

I am a Computer Science Student. As I mentioned in the other thread you posted this in. I will be returning to this after a couple other projects this summer. My Semester ends last week of April and my time is likely to be very limited until then.

I do plan to work on J1850VPW, especially now that I have a tech 2. I have a couple other M2 Projects I need to knock out first but there is a currently working Library available for J1850VPW that doesn’t yet support the 4x mode. This is the first “additional” protocol I hope to add to M2RET with support for Lawicel 2.0 and ELM/STN. Somewhere along the way I also hope to build out the M2RET software to be able to link two M2’s together to double the number of ports available and add support for some interesting MIM type stuff.

I’m going to be working on getting our app working with an STN device this week (ScanTool SX, a simple USB-OBD2 device), so if the M2 supports the same protocol that would be fantastic.

I was a CS student once upon a time myself, so I can sympathize. Good luck with your finals. :slight_smile: