Cellular working (Remote Car Starting)

So I got the cellular module to work with the M2. I’m able to send myself SMS messages to toggle the LED’s on the M2, send AT commands to the modem (and have it reply the response via SMS), as well as, sending CANBUS messages to my truck. I’ve only reverse engineered one code so far and that was to remote start my truck. If anyone has been working on RAM 1500’s, let me know. Mine’s a 2015.

ANYWAY, now that I got this working I was going to share, however I’m very new to Arduino and it’s been years since I’ve done C++, so I’m wondering if you guys have any code standards to ensure portability with anything I share.

1 Like

Very cool, good work! :star_struck: What modem did you use?

I’d suggest posting what you have and see what people have to say. If you post to Github, that makes it easy for others to suggest changes and improvements and that sort of thing.

I certainly would be interested in hearing about details.

Also, is your plan a small data plan or more like a typical smart phone?

I ask because I am considering my options for a Cellular connection on my M2’s. I may end up using an unlimited dataplan with a MiFi or similar device and just connect via WiFi to the device. Or I may have a cellular device that is dedicated to the M2.

Also when you do post the information publicly be sure to comment out any specific connection information so someone won’t know how it is connected to your truck.

You may also want to consider some sort of encryption of the commands if you install this permanently. Yes it will require a few more bytes but it is the only way to insure someone doesn’t capture your commands and use them. (See story about hackers controlling a jeep remotely causing it to crash)

Look forward to hearing more about your project!

This is the bad boy I bought for the modem
https://www.digi.com/products/xbee-rf-solutions/embedded-cellular-modems/xbee3-cellular-lte-cat-1