CAN on a 2006 Chevy 1500?

Hi all,

I have a 2006 Chevy 1500 I am glad I found this thread as my M2 was needing to get used! I am going to try to build a Library of all the sensors and codes I have in this truck, does anyone know what the majority of them are or if there is a start of a library? I am a web/mobile app developer and would like to make some sort of database if someone has not started one!

You might be interested in this thread: Collaboration on CAN Frame Decoding

tl;dr there are two relevant projects that I am aware of: CANiverse (description, source) and opendbc.

CANiverse currently has no movement behind it but aims to be a database and a web-based editor of the data (but has no data at this time there are people around familiar with the project if you want to pick it up.

opendbc is really just a store of information that is known about various (mostly newer) vehicles. I you are lucky you may find your vehicle there. If not and you acquire the information via reverse engineering (or otherwise) you can submit a pull request to add it.

None of that stuff will be of any use to oharkins because his vehicle (chevy silverado) doesnt even use CAN…

Sorry Ben, in 2006 they used a Hybrid system. Looking at the service manual right now.

They used both CANBUS and Class 2 bus in 2006. I BELIEVE basically the only difference between 2006 and 2007 is that the stuff that was still on Class 2 bus in 2006 was switched to the SWCAN bus in 2007. But yes 2006 DOES have canbus.

So kind of a hybrid system.

I don’t see the CANBUS connections on the BCM but they are there on the engine control module and related modules. Not going to spend the time to look at all of the modules but since I don’t have a 2006 I don’t know if you are only able to pull the engine/trans and ABS stuff from the canbus or what. The J1850 likely will just be the BCM stuff such as the Cluster etc.